Happy Sunday Week 17 (The Christmas Edition)


The economy is baring its teeth and slithering to strike pockets like a rattlesnake, people are not sure their Christmas celebration will be as food filled as years past and the forecast for 2017 looks bleak.

But GOD IS ON THE THRONE FOR ME. REPEAT AFTER ME, GOD IS ON THE THRONE FOR US!

This year, tough and depressing as it was, did not have His permission to kill me or break me down and neither will next year. In fact, this was my best year yet. 

Today I’m going to give you lots of reasons to bless God. Here goes;

1. He Came Through for me– When I quit my job, I knew what I wanted and what I did not want. I wanted part time jobs or full time jobs where the working atmosphere was CONDUCIVE. I wanted to be able to work remotely. And I told Him this. I told Him, “Daddy, you order my steps. You know what I’m capable of. You know my hopes and my dreams. Daddy give me something for my hands to do. Something that is a stepping stone to further opportunities. Something that will bring in money. Something that I will constantly testify about”.

Fam, I have gotten so many part time jobs so far. From preparing business plans and market surveys to other things, He has surrounded and given me EVERYTHING I asked for. And I know He will constantly bless me even more.

2. The Lazy Day Chronicle– Sometimes for no reason, I don’t want to go out. And if I do go out, I want to go somewhere close and do/get everything there. But that’s not possible some days. 

That day, my fruit supply had been exhausted. No oranges, no apples, no nothing and I was too lazy to go anywhere else but the supermarket I was currently at. Behold, a lady selling oranges walked by me. They were cheaper, sweeter and the convenience was unmatched. See how my God works?

3. Locally grown rice- I’m super happy that Nigeria now produces its own rice. And the prices Ambode was mentioning on Channels News at 10 on Thursday were not too high. #LakeRice #Cheerstosustainableplantandanimalfarming #Nowtomakeitorganic

4. I’m grateful for the happiness of other people– My mom used to tell me that frowning caused other people to frown. And it’s so true. But smiling, making weird faces, will bring out those teeth and a happy head shake from someone else.

On my WordPress Reader, on my social media accounts, Nedu’s becoming, the kind of testimonies they’ve been receiving? It just makes me so incredibly happy. 

5. Social Media blessings– These days, I am so grateful for so much. The people I follow on social media, I participated in a couple of giveaways and won 2. The opportunities social media has brought my way – 2 of my part time jobs, the friends and networks I’ve made off it. I’m so grateful.

6. Friends and Family– I’ve decided to code name my friends on this blog. You’ll see that in action in my 2016 review post but not here. 

My friends have caused me to laugh and cry and be so grateful. Exceptional human beings, rainbow colored as you are. There was Yanmife who paid for me to go paint partying when I told him I was vexing for him, Anthony who came out of the blues one fine Sunday and cleared my doubts and apprehension about a project I hold incredibly dear, Nedoux who gave me a book I wanted intermittently when I thought about it, Ifueko who bought Garri for Breakfast by Seun Lari-Williams (yes, that is a plug. He’s a fantastic writer though; I spent 5 years reading his poems and they’re fantastic, so do the needful) and got me Voices by Yewande Adebowale (another fantastic poet whose works I love), Yinka who got me the Smart Money Woman among other things, Stephanie whose holistic beauty business must suffer from all the samples she gives me (and her Kaolin clay and Activated charcoal is the truth), Fifi, Tomi and Joy who poke and prod me and give me wise counsel and read my blog when I do like this for them 😒😒😒, Adaezenwa whose generosity of spirit is so clear,Ayo S. who is so amazing for all that our friendship is only a couple of days old, Mobi, who bought 3/4 of my Stockhub bag 😁😁😁, Ayo, whose movies have been keeping my brother super entertained and who had been a receptacle for all my experience (thanks for giving me the opportunity to be a big sister to you), for Victor who finally got on WhatsApp!, Semi, Samuel and Adaeze, others I met doing the most random stuff, who have impacted my life so incredibly much, and more people I can’t name lest this post become more unwieldy than it currently is. I appreciate you guys so much! Thank you for everything and more.

My family, for all they do. A whole lot. Man, I couldn’t love you guys more if you paid me.

7. Wattpad and Other Sources of Entertainment: For making my phone the ultimate source of entertainment and an interested spectator in my bouts of laughing, the stories I’ve read, ranging from good to not so good, the connections and acquaintanceships I’ve developed. 

The consistent findings of old and beloved movies on other people’s laptops. It just remains Easy A and all 9 seasons if HIMYM. Thank you God!

8. My blog: Although engagement reduced IMO, more people have visited my blog than ever before and most importantly, so many have continued to visit. Thank you!

9. For McVities shortbread– Uber handy for those peckish times. 😉. 

10. For the season of giveaways 🙌🙌🙌. So here for that.

11. For Christmas food: Glorious, lovely Christmas food.

12. Because we can help the IDPs and the people in Syria, for programs like Christmas on the Streets, like BloomTribe, like Slum2school, for prison and hospital visits, for regularly held welfare services. I love paying it forward and I love knowing people are still incredibly generous. May that never change.

13. For self realization.

14. And the fact that you woke up today. New life. New grace.

15. I thank God for God. For Jesus. The Holy Spirit. For salvation, inner joy, laughter and incredible peace. I know whatever else, God has me.

What are you grateful for?

12 thoughts on “Happy Sunday Week 17 (The Christmas Edition)

  1. You never know until you read… I dunno know how that comes across but ok, I am just happy to come across you blog my dear hrh7 … I started keeping a Gratitude Journal this December after watching some Oprah u tube… I try each evening to write down at least 5 things am grateful for that day… This completely takes my mind away from dwelling on what didn’t go well that day or what ain’t going as planned in my life yet… Thanks for sharing yours…
    Am glad I guest blogged on Adaeze’s and guess what; it was even unsolicited … I offered and she gladly accepted. The first person I had offered to, said sorry but am so busy… I almost kept my posts to myself but last minute thought and here I am. I am Grateful for that and oh, am Grateful for the ability to start all over again, eg the P2 to my post got deleted somehow, and when Ada brought that to my attention yesterday; I took a deep breathe, prayed and said to my Darling Jesus: Oga let’s write another one because we already promised… And it’s that second one which actually brought you to my blog… You get all this sister? Am simply Grateful for all these and much more – Amen

    1. I’m happy to hear that you started a gratitude journal. As someone who had bipolar disorder, i realized that I needed to be happy and to share what caused that happiness. I forgot about that idea until one random day I was depressed and I remembered to start on that idea. I’m glad this was your first comment on my blog. And I’m glad you have a gratitude journal. It’s something I think everyone should have.
      Take care of you and yours. ❤

      1. Keep writing darling, write even about the lows. My late brother also lived with bipolar disorder but he was an introvert – kept to himself and kept his stuffs inside… I loved him so but I wish he was a little bit more out so I could reach him more in if you get me. So, that’s one more reason why I am more and more passionate about being just ME and being here and there for more people who let me be here and there with and for them. Best and blessed wishes for you and yours too

  2. I’m happy there’s a lot to be thankful for and I am going to be delibrate about your blog this year.

Leave a Reply

