Rounding Up and Running Away

I started both my blogs for me. For myself. I started the original blog as a compromise to an urge to be sociable, something I knew from experience that I could not execute for really long periods of time. 

There were not so many people I felt comfortable showing my real face to. And that was okay. It meant that I treasured the friendships I formed, but it also meant that I needed incredible amounts of downtime from people. 

The original blog was my way of being sociable, but on my own terms. That’s why I kept myself anonymous. That’s also why I started this blog.

While my old blog was my concession to sociability on my own terms i.e. being anonymous, this blog is my concession to my personality. That’s why one of the first things I ever posted was My Multiple Person Disorder. An explanation of sorts to you. The old blog was started by Obi. This one was started and is run by Obianuju. That’s why this is the blog I care about most. That’s why this is the blog I promote more. Because this blog is a reflection of myself and my personality in its entirety. And vain though it might seem, I want it to get all the accolades and admiration due it. And me.

But there was something I didn’t quite bargain for. I didn’t bargain on meeting people just like me, facing the exact challenges, and constant monsters I faced. Laughing at the not so funny things I laughed at, chalking it up to my weird sense of humor. If I have a weird sense of humor, then I’m in good company. I didn’t expect to find friends, even substitute big sisters. But I’m glad I found them and I’m glad my relationship with them is growing.

I present to you one of the most amazing and greatest writers of our generation. 

This is not an exaggeration. 

Adaezenwa constantly blows me away with the quality of the content she posts. I’ve never read a blog post of hers and come out without thinking, laughing, crying or humming. She is also a tremendously amazing human being and I hope she knows that. Because it’s difficult to recognize sometimes that you are amazing. That you are loved. That you are worthy of praise and envy and admiration. 

But even if she may not recognize it from time to time, that’s what I’m here for. Because that’s what friends are for. Because friends remind you of you.

*

By the way, 👇👇👇👇 is one of my favorite verses in the Bible. From Ecclesiastes 4:9-12. Please take some time to meditate on it.

9. Two are better than one, because they have a good [more satisfying] reward for their labor; 

10. For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up!
11. Again, if two lie down together, then they have warmth; but how can one be warm alone?
12. And though a man might prevail against him who is alone, two will withstand him. A threefold cord is not quickly broken.

Meditate on the passage, guys and eliminate all friendships that don’t conform. 

Because life is too long to have useless/ bad friendships. – Obianuju Ayalogu

I convinced Adaezenwa to write a post for me. It’s the first time she’ll be appearing on my blog, so show her some love everybody! 👏👏👏. 

By the way, she is currently a contestant in a writing competition and needs as many votes as possible to win. Please read the story, and if you love it, like I’m sure you will, click on the blue heart in top of the story to vote. Read and vote here 👉 http://sgnt.media/home/clash-of-the-titans/kolanut-palava-ezeada-ezenwa/. 

Thank you!

And now, without further ado; her contribution.

*

When I was a child there were many times I wanted to run away from home, I’d even selected my running away clothes- my blue t-shirt that had a beach scene at the top half and white and black horizontal stripes on the bottom half, my yellow skirt that was excellent for twirling, my red top canvas boots  with the blue trousers and blue shirt that went with it (I saw a picture of me in that outfit recently with my trousers hitched to my chest like an aspiring palmwine tapper) and my favourite pyjamas which was an ivory and red flower printed concoction of perfection. 

I never did run away, even with all the annoyances that came with being my parents’ child (they put the over in overprotective) and the call of wild adventure in my blood that came from the children’s books I read (my aunt brought bags full of Canadian children’s books from her boss who was a Rotary club chapter president). For one thing I had no idea how I’d survive despite how easy it seemed in those books, I (wisely, in retrospect) decided that Canadian methods might fail me in Nigeria but I didn’t stop dreaming of grand adventure, I still do. 

Growing up is the biggest scam, you think when you get bigger and have freedom then you get to do the things you want, when you want to and however freaking way you want to. Life sits at a corner and laughs like a maniac as the child that was you plots a better life. If that isn’t your story then you are extremely lucky and you have got to show me your BaBa… 

The urge to run away still lives in me, this time it is almost as strong as my need for oxygen. I want to go away, far from home, from my many problems, from unfulfilled expectations and disappointing realities and most of all this crushing recession that makes the Naira almost become attractive for use as tissue paper… yes I said it. I want to leave Nigeria for a country I have not decided on yet but the United States- yes even with Trump as president, Canada (for all the books I read as a child and their superior educational system for Adaeze jnr and her siblings) and Ireland (because I was an Irish storyteller and pub owner in another life…) as top contenders. 

I was talking to Obianuju about it on WhatsApp, about the options I want to explore that would make emigration possible. One strong reason for my wanting to leave is that the things I want to do with my writing and pharmacy are not feasible in Nigeria, plus the access to better management of PCOS makes me want to leave so bad. Unfortunately due to the downward slide of the naira, it is getting harder and harder to even make such plans- a real catch-22 situation. 

“Write about it and send it to me” she ordered… 
And I began to write. 

*

Article Recommendation

http://minimalbelle.com/2016/11/15/five-tips-for-the-workplace/- Not because she followed me. Because it’s so true!

http://www.hattylolla.com/2016/10/how-to-use-vision-board-to-get-whatever.html?m=1 – It’s a really good article. Lots of tips to implement.

40 thoughts on “Rounding Up and Running Away

  1. @ Adaeze, I so identify with how u are feeling about wanting to run away. I had that same feeling in 2007, and when I couldn’t take it anymore, I resigned my job and traveled. During my *gap year*, I rediscovered myself and learnt to love me with all my weirdness. Don’t be deterred by the current Naira, anything is possible with God and with proper financial planning. Save more and make more money. Every Naira counts. I have a day job, and I have so many side hustles. God bless.
    http://www.akaglue.com

    1. Thank you for the nice message. And the advice. I look forward to sitting down and digesting all your recent blog posts soon.

  2. @Obianuju, I totally agree with you Adaeze is an amazing writer. She and Neduox’s write ups always strike a chord with me.
    @Adaeze
    “”Growing up is the biggest scam, you think when you get bigger and have freedom then you get to do the things you want, when you want to and however freaking way you want to. Life sits at a corner and laughs like a maniac as the child that was you plots a better life. If that isn’t your story then you are extremely lucky and you have got to show me your BaBa””
    Like I need to know the Baba.
    Like you and a crowd of others (all for similar or different reasons) I would like to port this west African ship.
    The naira is making it seems harder yeah, but not impossible. It can still be achieved.
    Lol @ she ordered….

    1. Thank you Tamie, thou maketh me blush.
      I hope it can be achieved soon, it gets bleaker by the day. God will see us through though, I know that for a fact.
      Obianuju is Her Royal Highness o, she gives orders and decrees to her loyal subjects.

  3. @Obianuju Finally know your name. Yippee🙌
    I can relate with the people draining oneself although unlike you, there are really times i love people but i have found i prefer making friends with people who i do not see regularly. Most times i am unaware of my environment and most people think i’m being snobbish.

    Adaezenwa is a really good writer, friend and sister all in one and I am grateful I can say that. She’s amaze-balls.
    @Adaeze, Growing up I never thought of running away but i wished i could go places, i still dream that now although the Naira situation is something else. I used to dream of leaving Nigeria to work even in Japan sef but i am happy now that i have found what i want to do and it requires staying in Naija for a while. But don’t give up your leaving the country dreams and save for for it

    1. You didn’t know my name before? Oohhh! The friendships that develop in those instances are so nice. And freeing as well. You can tell them stuff and because you don’t see them often, you have no fear that they’ll blurt out your dirtiest secrets to anyone who knows you. I know it well.
      She definitely is.

      1. Ada has said that i need to appease the Gods for not knowing.
        I bring 1 cow🐈, 3 fowls🐥🐥🐥 and 10 tubers of yam🍠 in repentance.
        Ikpele m di n’ana

    2. So you didn’t know her name… you have to appease the gods.
      I’m glad you’ve found what you makes you happy, saving to leave seems to be getting harder and harder…

  4. I always feel like running away too, even today-I want to run away. Having to stay in Lagos all through the year is really booooring.
    Lovely write-up, yes, my namsie is the best.

  5. Such a great post! And I was honoured and surprised to find a link to one of my articles at the bottom of your page… thank you so much! I look forward to reading more of your blog. 🙂

    1. Thank you dear. And your article was so incredibly true, I added it up.
      I also look forward to reading more of your work. Because if what I read is a representation of what you write, I’ll enjoy reading your posts a lot.

    2. @ Minimal Belle. I visited your blog a few minutes, I do like to leave a comment on some of your awesome posts but I found out the comment section isn’t functional. Kindly take a look at it and if its intentional, I’m okay

      1. That is really strange–so sorry about that! I will see what is going on. It is definitely not intentional! I’d love to hear your thoughts. 🙂

      2. Quick question: are you unable to post any comments on any posts? Because I am receiving comments for moderation, and I can see a comment box beneath the posts, once I click on them (rather than just viewing them on the main page.) I’m not sure what the issue is as I seem to have them all enabled, but am eager to sort it out! 🙂

      3. I’m unable to post any comments on any of the post because the comment box isn’t available excepts the likes ticks.
        Yes I clicked and read a few around and the comments box isn’t functional in all either. Maybe this is peculiar to those trying to view your blog from Mobile App

    1. Exactly! She’s one of the best writers I’e ever met.
      And definitely, thank you so much! It was fun to write. Will check out your blog soon.

  6. I agreed completely with everything you wrote down or rather posted. Seriously, many a times I do wished I was born in one of those western clime where things seems to be working. And I do want to run away too by all means but then I reasoned positivism.
    By the way. All ye guys tryna jet away, I’m officially making a plea just to be tag along in case!…..Lol

    And yes @adaeze is an amaaazing writer!

  7. This was beautiful. I completely relate to Adaeze’s story. I dream of a better life, somewhere faraway. The passage, Ecclesiastes 4:9-11, makes me question if I truly have someone that will pick me up when I fall, someone reliable. Someone who is honest and who praises my efforts. Everyone wants that friend.

    1. I have multiple groups of that friend personally. It’s very important to have those, in duplicate too.
      And even more important to be that kind of friend to someone else.
      Thanks for reading and commenting Anuli!

Leave a Reply

