Happy (Mishmash) Wednesdays – Week 5

Surprised to see this post, I’m sure. I’m sorry for the delay.
*

STORIES ONE & TWO – The King Women

I said before that my great aunt passed on? Well today was her burial and my 3 paternal aunts came to pay their last respects to her.

They got in yesterday, bringing peanut butter (which I immediately spread on my apple slices), amazing chin chin (so named because it is so apt) and lovely mangoes. I was at work when they got in and they went to my great aunt’s wake keep immediately afterwards.
I saw them later though.
But today was the day of the actual burial and I didn’t go to work.
First, we went to the church at Ebute Metta, (RCCG- Throne of Grace parish) where the church service took place. The pastor preached on preparing for death (I really liked the sermon), then we went to Ikoyi Cemetery which I actually entered. First time entering a cemetery. I wasn’t spooked, far from it. But when I saw that some burial plots were shared by 4 people in one case or 2 people who didn’t seem to know each other from anywhere (going by their dates of birth and death), it just reinforced my desire to be cremated.
I know that the important part of a human being is the soul and the spirit, that’s what animates you and draws people close to you or away from you but, for a plethora of reasons, when I die, I really want to be cremated.
Then to the reception, at the Yoruba Tennis Club. I’d never heard of it or visited before. But that just goes to prove that unfamiliar doesn’t always mean bad. And they have an Air Conditioner in the toilet!
I didn’t have breakfast so I ate: 

image
If I could commit to a favorite food, ofada rice would be it.

and ate:

image
Buffet salads made by Simply Salads

and ate:

image
First helping of cake, which my aunts helped me finish as they and my mom also did with the second helping and the asun in the red bowl. Cakes by Cakes by Yosola (amazing company, ultra nice owner but I wasn't able to get my promised ice cream before we left so ๐Ÿ˜ )

Then we danced (Funny thing about that; someone would spray money on another, that other would collect the money and spray same money on yet another. Except me, of course. I’m not a big girl like that yet), then I helped share souvenirs (everyone took except for one Harvey Specter dress alike (no, I don’t watch Suits) who wore green native and spoke beautifully. Don’t have a crush either), then had a serious selfie session with yet another aunt:

image
After trying to sell me on the benefits of early marriage, of course.๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Danced some more, ate a bit of her cream caramel (let’s just call it baked custard yeah? That was its name when I made it).
Took some more pictures for future happiness sake (something I do: where on happy days, I take silly pictures to view on serious or sad days. For instance:

image
How can you not laugh when you see this?

And then we left.

STORY THREE – ๐ŸŽต It’s been a long day, without you my friend ๐ŸŽต

I’ve mentioned Aisha here before. Anyway, the last time I heard from or saw her before yesterday, was in 2014?
After that day, I think she lost her phone or something of that nature cos I never saw or heard from her again.
That is, until yesterday when surprise surprise, she came to my office. Apparently, she knows my boss. Anyway, she stayed in my office for about 3 hours, made me take her to the bank and consider following her to Alade market and Oshodi. She’s a human whirlwind, I tell you.
And gosh, I was so happy to see her!

image
Human whirlwind, Asa lover, office shaker, awesome person!

HAPPY FOURTH Picture? Story? Something

I like being happy, who wouldn’t like that? So, on BlackBerry, I follow pretty much every channel with Funny in its name (except that one that made that disgusting joke about women enjoying being raped). And I saw this, hehe:

image
๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

STORY FIVE –  ๐ŸŽต When I think about your mercy, and your faithfulness each dayyyyyy ๐ŸŽต

For reasons I do not want to get into, I find myself a little bit broke. But the testimonies I’ve been receiving lately? Amazing. There was the time when I found a 1000 note in my wallet. I checked it earlier, there was nothing there, the new shoes I got yesterday; I’ve been planning to replace an old pair for about 3 weeks. The money I got sprayed today ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ™Œ etc.
I’d rather (have actually) starved before telling anyone to send me money. I’d much rather tell God.
And you know what? The Lord keeps providing for my needs according to HIS riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

Have a happy rest of the week!
*

http://adrielzjournal2013.wordpress.com/2016/03/06/nne-nne/- I especially love her take on coincidence.

10 thoughts on “Happy (Mishmash) Wednesdays – Week 5

  1. You like ofada rice? You should be my mum’s friend. Not particularly thrilled about it and am glad the one at home is running out fast.

    1. That’s fine. Not too many people are thrilled about it from what I’ve seen. Lol. I don’t want to be a friend for food either.

  2. Hmmmm. I sat through the party with you (via your blog) and you didn’t offer me anything. Enjoyed the post and please take a lovely picture of you, without mischief in it *tongue out*

    1. I love mischief. It’s difficult for me. But I’ll try.
      I’m so sorry about the oversight. Here *offers you lots of drinks, cake, asun and small chops*.

      1. LOL. You really do love mischief but that’s where the fun is…shhh don’t tell anyone so they don’t take the wind out of our sail *wink*

  3. May God rest your great aunt’s soul. I have a question though, ‘I thought Igbo’s are taken to the village when they die– to be buried there rather than in the cemetery.’
    The food is giving me life and yes, I laughed at the picture with your face all puffed out.
    God always provides for us, regardless of the measure, besides, He is super rich and we are his favourite kids in the whole planet.
    I’m glad you’re happy dear….and guess what?? I’m happy too…

    1. I’m very happy that you’re happy and that you’re glad I’m happy. Not all the time, I’ve found. She married a Yoruba born man and she was buried in his grave.
      Lol @ the food giving you life. I dreamt of that cake myself. Yay for puffed out faces!
      Yes He does and yes, we are. I’m grateful to God for God. Thank you Adaeze for such a happy comment.

  4. Hi,

    I read that the apple slices and peanut butter combo is a healthy snack, I’ve never tried it before but now I’m considering it.

    The reception was brilliantly catered, yummy looking food.

    Yes, someone once told me about the space shortage at cemeteries, I agree with you, it’s just the mortal body that goes into the ground, the soul transitions elsewhere.

    Have a nice weekend.

    1. *Chop knuckle* Spread it on a slice first though. I tried it once a lot of years back and I liked it but not so much. Then I tried it 2 years back and I adored it. And wondered what I’d been doing before that.
      As in! I loved that cake so very much, and the ofada rice too.
      Honestly, I want to be cremated so badly! But still, I’m working on learning not to care so much.
      Have a lovely weekend as well.

Leave a Reply

