Brandy for the win

When I was younger, I thought Brandy sang this song (Everything I do). Then I found Bryan Adams’ version.
Adaezenwa might impale me but I much prefer Brandy’s version. It’s loads more soulful and incites all the happy mushiness that the Bryan Adams’ version doesn’t. I heard it on the radio in the bus today and before I knew it I was screeching singing along. It distracted me and tipped the balance between starting a mad at my seat partner (he ask me stewpid question, the park is smelly so I shake my head and don’t answer. He ask me another stewpid question. I still don’t answer. He say he be talking to me, don’t I have anything to say at all? Then I answer. I tell him, you and I, we don’t have to talk about anytin. He leaf me alone. Me is happy) or continuing in my happy girl bubble.

The DJ followed it up with songs I knew and loved until I was about to get down when the station switched to songs I’d never heard and wasn’t sure I liked. Happy girl bubble! Yay!

Speaking of which, I like brandy as a preservative. Made cakes a month back or earlier and they haven’t gone bad yet because we added a generous addition of brandy to them. I should add it to my fried rice sometime. Whatcha think?

Here are the lyrics. I want to dance to this song with my boyfriend. It’s so beautiful! And yes, Adaezenwa, I know God is love.

*

Look into my eyes – you will see
What you mean to me.
Search your heart, search your soul
And when you find me there you’ll search no more.

Don’t tell me it’s not worth tryin’ for.
You can’t tell me it’s not worth dyin’ for.
You know it’s true:
Everything I do, I do it for you.

Look into your heart – you will find
There’s nothin’ there to hide.
Take me as I am, take my life.
I would give it all, I would sacrifice.

Don’t tell me it’s not worth fightin’ for
I can’t help it, there’s nothin’ I want more
You know it’s true:
Everything I do, I do it for you, oh, yeah.

There’s no love like your love
And no other could give more love.
There’s nowhere unless you’re there
All the time, all the way, yeah.

Look into your heart, baby…

Oh, you can’t tell me it’s not worth tryin’ for.
I can’t help it, there’s nothin’ I want more.

Yeah, I would fight for you, I’d lie for you,
Walk the wire for you, yeah, I’d die for you.

You know it’s true:
Everything I do, oh, I do it for you.

Everything I do, darling.
You will see it’s true.
You will see it’s true.
Yeah!
Search your heart and your soul
You can’t tell it’s not worth dying for
I’ll be there
I’d walk the fire for you
I’d die for you
Oh, yeah.
I’m going all the time, all the way.

Culled from azlyrics.com.

Cheers for them!

21 thoughts on “Brandy for the win

  1. Like the song “Uptown girl”. Always did think it was Westlife’s. Their sound is funkier than Billy Joel’s. The original artist.
    “….. and when she’s walkinggggg she’s lookingggggg so fineeeeee….
    ….and when she’s talkinggggg she’s sayingggggg she’s mineeeee….. “

    1. “… Uptown giiiirl, she’s living in her white bread woooorld”
      “My uptooown girrrl”
      Lawl. Sometimes the copy is better than the original. I loved Cyndi Lauper’s Time after Time until I listened to Quiet Drive’s version of it.
      Thanks Oluchi. I appreciate your comment.

    2. I’ll start by saying I’m not the biggest Westlife fan, they copied too many songs for my liking plus my other personal issues with them…
      I agree with funkier, much funkier but better? I don’t think so. It’s not even because I’m in love with Billy Joel’s voice- that man can sing abeg! The original version was a vocal wet dream (that was crude but apt) and that was before the days of autotune and synthesizers. His voice shone unlike Westlife’s version that amplified the bass and autotuned the hell out of the song.
      Then the videos! The original had a video that was more in keeping with the song, the Westlife boys looked too soft to be downtown boys.
      Rant over…
      Both versions rock!

      1. Ahhh you just reminded me of the video! Oh Westlife’s video was merrier. I even rooted for the “uptown girl” in the video. Funny enough, then, it always reminded me of Michael Jackson’s The Way You Make Me Feel. There, the video is like a calmer, more composed tale of the Uptown Girl. To me

      2. The first time I saw the video for The way you make me feel, I was seventeen. I was transfixed by that video, I literally could not breathe until it ended. MJ was a genius far ahead of his time.

      3. Lol! I’m a song girl only. Unless the videos are telling me a story, I don’t bother watching them or if I watch them, I forget them almost immediately.
        @crude but apt, err aunty Adaezenwa, at this point in my life, I am unlooking.
        You’re totally right. Peace is declared!

  2. That narration of the encounter with your seat partner was very funny.
    Lol @ “you and I, we don’t have to talk about anytin”

    1. That place was stinking to high heavens and I wasn’t about to start chatting with someone about stuff that has absolutely nothing to do with me because i want to perpetuate the illusion of niceness.
      Anyhoo, how is your pretty self? Sewed anything (apart from your lovely red kimono dress recently?

    1. He was. Probably. We basically ignored each other for the rest of the trip. But I didn’t care! I was thanking God for the music and the DJ’s life

Leave a Reply

