Review: Anie’s Handmade Store

A short while ago, a friend of mine contacted me and asked me to do a review of the products she’d begun selling. So many thoughts ran through my mind:

Yay! Free stuff!
What if I don’t like the products?
I’m happy she’s taking this passion further.

I told her the truth: I’d never done a review on my blog before and she was the first to ask me. She insisted. I hesitated a bit further. Then a cousin of mine (I’ve got quite a number of them) saw my BBM profile message. I was advertising one of the products (the whipped butter mix) for sale. I offered to get her some. So I contacted my friend to purchase the products and I asked her to send along a product she’d like me to review.

THE REVIEW:

Before I get into it, here’s a picture detailing what the store sells:

image

I ordered the whipped butter mix and I was assigned the Black soap scrub to review. I’ll review both.

WHIPPED BUTTER MIX

image

image

PROS:

1. Size – I’d only seen pictures of it and it was advertised as travel size. Pictures can make things appear larger than normal so I had a full afternoon to wonder if I’d get a tiny jar filled three-fourths to the brim. I was very pleasantly surprised. In my estimation, I can use one of the mixes for up to 3 months. 5 if I stop using it to keep my feet warm from the cold. And since harmattan haff finish…

2. Price – The whipped butter mix has a lot of ingredients- water, vanilla infused cocoa butter, vitamin E and B3, coconut oil etc etc. In the size it came in, I believe N350 is quite reasonable. And budget friendly too.

3. Delivery – I placed my order with my friend around 1PM. The courier service – JUWON MARKET delivered the products to me by 8PM at my church. I’d never heard of them beforehand. But the deliveryman was nice. He called me most of the time, didn’t mind when I didn’t give him a tip and best of all- he didn’t smell of alcohol. So I’m advertising them for free. πŸ˜€

4. Multiplicity of Use – The whipped butter mix can be used on the skin as well as the hair. And trust me I’ve used it on both various times. My lips, my hands and feet and as a twisting cream for my hair. I liked it best as a hand and foot cream. It’s sufficiently thick enough. As a twisting cream I found it a bit too thick and in need of dissolution and whenever I use it as a lip balm I end up licking it off.

5. The products are organic – All the products in the line are advertised as being organic and free of chemicals. This is good. It reduces the risk of allergies and skin reactions.

6. It smells like cookies and cream flavoured ice cream.

CONS –

1. Packaging- Personally I don’t particularly like fancy packaging (when it comes to skin products that is. I saw a picture on Instagram of a soap that looked like a cupcake with Skittles or M and M toppings. It was ridiculous how much I wanted to eat it). But my dad, little brother, cousin (another one) and her mom all commented that the packaging was very basic. And so it’s here. I personally don’t mind and truth be told, prefer the basic packaging. But it’s been proven that I’m completely alone where this is concerned. I’ll simply say- Great packaging enhances value. (Wrapped birthday and Christmas presents set my heart thumping in glee)

2. Lack of registration – I’m one of those people who pores over the ingredient list in cream bottles. I locate the ingredient I need and look out so I don’t mistakenly buy a cream that has collagen or bleaching agents. I already know that the product list is organic and eminently eatable (yes I know that the correct word is edible). But I confess I wanted to read about it too.

THE SOAP SCRUB

image

PROS

1. SIZE and PRICE: The soap scrub comes in a 550g pot (I’m using pot because I think I’ve used jar a little too much already). The pot like its counterpart is unlabeled (for now). When I saw it I had to ask about it. But for N1500 and given the value I’ve gotten, I’d go for it.

2. Multiplicity of Usage: I didn’t bother to ask her whether I could use it on my hair. I already knew the products were all natural and I’d read on a blog; Osemhen’s, that black soap is a good and inexpensive shampoo. I’d also read that it’s good to exfoliate your scalp. So when I took my braids out I went a-washing. The foam I got from 2 fingerfuls was gigantic enough. I’ll probably use it as a scalp exfoliant for up to 2 years. That’s not an exaggeration. (Sorry, I forgot to take a picture of the foam). And when I was done washing my hair, it had never felt cleaner. As a body exfoliant also it was good. But I loved it a lot more on my hair.

3. PACKAGING: Here it’s an advantage. It’s a big jar and round with it. Kind of like mayonnaise but without the narrow arch at the top. It makes dipping easier and I’d really hate to have to squeeze out an exfoliant when my head (and eyes) are upside down.

CONS

1. NO LABELLING: I would have really loved to taste it to confirm my suspicion that it was brown sugar that gave it it’s “scrubbiness”. But (a) soap (b) I’m afraid it might be salt. And all of this could have been prevented if I had just been able to read the ingredient list.

Stephanie herself blogs at http://dreamintoreality.wordpress.com
Her BBM channel is COO2B7A07 (CEEOHOHTWOBEESEVENAYZEROSEVEN) because lawyers draft in words and then write in figures :). If you’re on BBM, you can start a chat with her and place your orders.
And her phone number is 08166243282 (ZeeoEightOnesixsixtwo… You get my point)
****

Blog recommendation:
http://tworiversblog.com/2016/01/12/the-way-of-the-master/. It’s a totally amazing article.

8 thoughts on “Review: Anie’s Handmade Store

  1. Happy Happy New Year, Uju! May 2016 be your best year yet! πŸ˜€

    Your review was balanced: pros AND cons. I hope your friend appreciates it.

    I had no idea you could use black soap as a shampoo, or that it was so foamy. Multiplicity of uses is definitely a plus.

    Lol @ lawyer’s drafting in figures and then writing in words. So true.

    Please, do a post on delivery men smelling of alcohol. You have piqued my interest. πŸ™‚

    1. Happy New Year Sharon sweetheart. Thanks for the compliment. And yes, she loved it and thanked me. I’m a member of more than 6 natural hair channels and a couple of blogs and I’ve gotten loads of advice. There’s a sale currently on the black soap. It’s N500 cheaper till the end of January.
      I’ll consider the post but I might change the topic to include drivers as well. Thank you for the comment sweetheart. It is appreciated.

  2. First of all. I don’t know how others feel. But seriously I feel like I was eating a good 3 course meal. Hey I’m handsomely serious. I mean the choice of words, delivery and poise. Maybe I could have fall yakata if this post had maybe transform to a lady. Good nice job dear.

    Kudos to all the TENAT (Team Natural) ladies out there including myndarlingnuju helping us appreciate the beauty of endowed kinky, fluffy and sometimes very *agreeable hair.

    To be sincere, it seems like I have sleeping on a bicycle on black soap thing. I never knew its still in use cos its been long I have made use of it,probably when I was a kid. Plus the diabolical belief attached to it then destabilize my use of it.

    I like your delivery of the pros and cons, well balanced and articulately described tentatively. *see me feeling like judge swordsmith from ancient days of alalumole realm* πŸ˜€πŸ˜€.

    Welcome back officially Miss Uju Hrh, and may this year produces and manifest the best God has to offer IJN…..

    1. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. I’m glad you liked the review and I hope you stop paying attention to the rumors about black soap being diabolical. Its not but even if it were you are a child of God and you have dominion over EVERYTHING God created (Genesis 1:26)

  3. That was then though – few years back. I’m above that stage NOW. All the same thanks fordrawing my attention to that scripture .

Leave a Reply

